The Southwestern Company Tubes

Southwestern Company Tubes Comes Alive – MUAHAHAHAHHAHA!

Posted by Nate de la Piedra on July 19, 2008

I’m not going to go over what “series of tubes” is or why this blog is called that (it’s in the About the Southwestern Company Tubes).  As my first post, I just wanted to expand a little bit about why this blog exists, although that’s also in the About the Southwestern Company Tubes page.

I was hired as the Online Resources Manager for the Southwestern Company.  This blog is simply my thoughts and experiences as I go along making the tubes safe for book slingers and a way for my friends and family to see what I’m up to.  It’s not an “official view” (that’s what the corporate blog is for) or a way to get an “insiders opinion” on the company.  I’ll mention my opinion of the Southwestern Company but only as a sidenote….(like now)  The company is forward thinking enough that I will be working within the Communications Dept and not IS.  We have a great team in IS that is managing the technical end of our website, so there is no need for me there.  Instead I will be coordinating with the different depts to optimize our research, coordinate online communication and outreach, and organize a corporate blog.

I sold books during the summer as part of the Southwestern Company’s summer program back in 2001 and also 2002.  I had a very successful first summer and not so hot second summer selling books.  Don’t get me wrong, during my second summer slinging books I still made a ton of money (especially for what a college student can make) and even bested my first summer of selling.  It’s just that during my second summer with Southwestern, I got distracted became “off-schedule” which basically means I started putting in a lot less hours and consequently lost the potentional to make an absurd about of money.

So now as the prodigal son I’ve returned to help the company build an online brand.  Okay, not really like a prodigal son because I never worked as a swine herder and haven’t gone broke, but it sounds catchy!

Leave a comment